Lea Wait

Welcome to Lea Wait's website!

USA Today best-selling author and historian Lea Wait writes both the Agatha-finalist Shadows Antique Print Mystery series and the four-book Mainely Needlepoint series, as well as historical novels for ages eight and up set in nineteenth century Maine.


Click here for a printable list of Lea Wait's books.

By popular demand! Lea’s bibliography on historical needlepoint.

Order from Amazon. Order from Indie Bound. Order from Barnes and Noble.

Order the fourth book now!
Publication date: October 25, 2016

New: read the two-page prequel online now.

The Mainely Needlepointers are about to learn that no man is an island—especially when greedy developers want his land . . .

Hermit Jesse Lockhart lives alone on King’s Island, three miles east of Haven Harbor, Maine, where he’s created a private sanctuary for the endangered Great Cormorants. But when a wealthy family wants to buy the island and Jesse’s cousin Simon petitions for power of attorney to force him to sell, Jesse is the one who becomes endangered.

Mainely Needlepointer Dave Perry, who befriended Jesse in the VA hospital, rallies the group to his defense. Angie Curtis and the ravelers stitch “Save the King’s Island Cormorants” pillows and sell T-shirts to pay for Jesse’s legal counsel. But tragically, on a visit to the island, Angie and Dave find Jesse dead. Now the search is on for a common thread that can tie the murdered man to his killer . . .(Goodreads)


Order ebook for Amazon Kindle
Order from Amazon. Order from Indie Bound. Order from Barnes and Noble.

Order the most recent novel in the Shadows Antique Print Mystery series.

Read the two-page prequel online now.

Maggie Summer is making big changes in her life. The antique print dealer has taken a sabbatical and moved to Maine to run an antiques mall with Will Brewer, her significant other. And she will finally adopt the daughter she’s been longing for. However, the troubled girl doesn’t want any part of the plan, showing affection only for the harbor seals, which remind her of her “real mother.” But someone starts shooting the seals–and a young fisherman is murdered. Then Will confesses a secret from his past, and Maggie begins to wonder if this is the biggest mistake of her life.

“Shadows on a Morning in Maine is an extraordinary novel by a master of the mystery/suspense genre ... unreservedly recommended for community library collections and the personal reading lists of dedicated mystery buffs.” - Midwest Book Review

Order from Amazon. Order from Indie Bound. Order from Barnes and Noble.

Get the third and latest book currently published in the series:

Read the three-page prequel online now.

Angie and the Mainely Needlepointers are celebrating the Fourth of July when young Mary Clough stops in with a question about a piece of antique needlepoint she’s discovered in her family’s eighteenth century home and wants to identify. The needlepointers suspect it was stitched by Mary, Queen of Scots ... and very valuable. Angie turns it over to her lawyer for safekeeping. But when the lawyer is found dead, the safe open, and the needlepoint missing ... identification of the stitching is just one of the mysteries to be solved.

Want to know more about Lea and other Maine mystery writers? Check out the daily blog www.mainecrimewriters.com with posts from Gerry Boyle, Dorothy Cannell, John Clark, Vicki Doudera, Kathy Lynn Emerson/Kaitlyn Dunnett, Kate Flora, James Hayman, Barbara Ross and Susan Vaughan and others!


Second novel in the series:


Read the three-page prequel online now.


In 1970 a teenaged girl whose family owned a large Victorian summer home in Haven Harbor, Maine, died suddenly. Was it an accident, as the police report said? Or does her deserted home, or the needlework inside, hide clues to what really happened at that Labor Day party? And why is a famous Hollywood actress now so determined to renovate the home ... and become a part of the Haven Harbor community?  
Order now at

The Amazon best-selling debut novel in the Mainely Needlepoint series:


Amazon Best Seller
USA Today Best Seller

The first in the Mainely Needlepoint series! Angie Curtis left Haven Harbor, Maine when she was 18 to escape her mother’s legacy. Now it’s ten years later, her mother’s body has been found, and she’s pulled back into a world she’d thought she’d left behind. And then the agent for her grandmother’s custom needlepoint business is murdered. Has Angie’s return home stirred up long-hidden secrets? And is she herself in danger? 

Read the three-page prequel online now.

    “A cozy debut that hits all the sweet spots: small town, family ties, and a crew of intriguing personalities.” – Library Journal
    “Exciting writing .. Lea Wait’s taken the “amateur sleuth aspect to the edge. And the pack and vividness show that this Maine author has come into her own, with a series that promises excitement, adventure – and some insight into the heart of a very smart and savvy young woman.  Fresh and  intriguing!”
– Kingdom Books

Order from Amazon. Order from Indie Bound. Order from Barnes and Noble.


New: read the free exerpt online now.

Want to know more about Lea and her artist husband, Bob Thomas? Living and Writing on the Coast of Maine takes you inside a year in their lives with wry humor and insights, as they love each other, Maine, and making a living writing and painting. A must read for anyone wondering what it would be like to live in Maine ... or be a published author.

Order from Amazon. Order from Barnes and Noble.

facebook Friend Lea on Facebook and Goodreads and hear her latest news!

All contents Copyright ©2016 Lea Wait. All rights reserved.
No text or images may be reproduced without the express written consent of the owner.

Privacy note: This site does not collect or store information about individual website visitors.

Site managed by www.finestkindwebdesign.com